Diagrama de temas

  • General

    The course has been designed to reinforce the English language of 8th cycle students of foreign languages at UCV.

    Getting knowledge about the history of English speaking countries, specially Britain and the USA, will enable students to enrich their culture and at the same time practice the language by communicating  with a purpose . 



    British History:

    Pre-history - Roman Period - Anglo Saxon Period -

    Medieval History: Norman conquest - The Magna carta - 100 years´war

    Tudor England: Henry VIII  -  Elizabeth  I

    The Stuarts: Civil war  -  Restiration of Monarchy

    18th. Century: Birth of the Kingdom - Expanssion - Loss of  colonies - agricultural and industrial revolution

    19th. Century: Victorian age

    20th. century: World war I and II - The Cold  War

  • Tema 1



    This section deals with information about ages in pre-historic Britain, the Roman Invation that lasted for 400 years; and the Anglo Saxons who gradually came to Britain from other parts of Europe, mainly  northern Germany, Norway  and Denmark.

  • Tema 2


    This part presents an account of the Medieval period in Britain, starting with  the Norman Conquest, the introduction of the Feudal System, The Magna Carta of English liberties, and the long struggle between England and France for gaining territories. It also makes a brief account of the flowering of art and learning during this period.

  • Tema 3

    A History of Britain (BBC Documentaries)

    Great Britain, also known as Britain, is an island in the North Atlantic off the north-west coast of continental Europe. With an area of 229,848 km2 (88,745 sq mi), it is the largest island of the British Isles, the largest island in Europe and the ninth-largest in the world. In 2011 the island had a population of about 61 million people, making it the third-most populous island in the world, after Java (Indonesia) and Honsh? (Japan). It is surrounded by over 1,000 smaller islands. The island of Ireland lies to its west.

    The island is part of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, constituting most of its territory: most of England, Scotland, and Wales are on the island, with their respective capital cities, London, Edinburgh, and Cardiff. Politically, the term Great Britain usually extends to include surrounding islands that form part of England, Scotland, and Wales.

    The Kingdom of Great Britain resulted from the Union of Scotland and England (which already comprised the present-day England and Wales) in 1707. More than a hundred years before, in 1603, King James VI, King of Scots, had inherited the throne of England, but it was not until 1707 that the Parliaments of the two countries agreed to form a single kingdom. Subsequently, in 1801, Great Britain united with the neighbouring Kingdom of Ireland, forming the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland. When five-sixths of Ireland seceded from the United Kingdom in 1922, the state was renamed the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.
    • Tema 4

      • Tema 5

        • Tema 6

          • Tema 7

            • Tema 8

              • Tema 9

                • Tema 10